X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bergmark
    Rookie
    • Jun 2008

Any variant have "auto explore"

I'm fairly new to Angband, but coming from having played a bit of crawl recently. Do any of the variants support crawl-style ctrl-0 autoexplore or moving the nearest stars from the overview map (X >). I find myself missing these conveniences quite a bit.
  • Nick
    Vanilla maintainer
    • Apr 2007

Originally posted by bergmark
    I'm fairly new to Angband, but coming from having played a bit of crawl recently. Do any of the variants support crawl-style ctrl-0 autoexplore or moving the nearest stars from the overview map (X >). I find myself missing these conveniences quite a bit.
    I think the closest thing in *bands is mouse exploration, where you click where you want to go and the game will try to find you a path there (it's just like running, except with a destination instead of a starting direction). This was introduced in UnAngband, and is also possible in Vanilla and FA. I haven't played enough crawl to compare, but I understand from previous discussions that it's a, um, less impressive feature than auto-explore.
    One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
    In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.

Comment

• Narvius
      Knight
      • Dec 2007

I don't like auto-explore (I played DC).
      At the moment there's nothing that makes the game "automated", except the near infinite ways to create shortcuts.
      But if someone really wants to have Auto-Explore; it can be stolen from the borg, I guess.
      If you can convincingly pretend you're crazy, you probably are.

Comment

• bergmark
        Rookie
        • Jun 2008

Originally posted by Narvius
        I don't like auto-explore (I played DC).
        At the moment there's nothing that makes the game "automated", except the near infinite ways to create shortcuts.
        But if someone really wants to have Auto-Explore; it can be stolen from the borg, I guess.