X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kooltone
    Scout
    • Jun 2021

How were You Introduced to Angband?

How were you introduced to Angband, and if you are comfortable sharing, how old are you?

I'm assuming I'm one of the young whippersnappers playing this game. I'm 28. I grew up playing Pokémon Gold/Silver and Ruby/Sapphire on a GBA SP.

I was introduced to Angband about a year or two ago, but I have been playing old-school roguelikes since around 2014.

If I recall, I took a round about route to these old games. My friend's dad happened to have an old copy of Commander Keen and introduced us to some of the DOS games on his Windows XP computer. I think after that, I started looking around for other abandonware DOS games. At some point, I found The Hobbit DOS game and discovered Colossal Cave Adventure and Zork. Eventually, I ran across ADOM which was my very first roguelike. I didn't make it very far into the ADOM, but it left a lasting impression on me. I tried Nethack at some point, but it always felt obtuse to me. I'd play Nethack off and on for years and even found a port on my Android phone. But for some reason, the port no longer works on my device. I looked for alternatives and ran across an Angband port on Google Play. Since then, Angband has been my exclusive classic roguelike, and yes, I mostly play it on my phone.
    Certainty of death. Small chance of success. What are we waiting for?
  • Sky
    Veteran
    • Oct 2016

I was building my PC with a C2D and i had very little money, so i built it one piece at the time, i used a Celeron while i saved for the CPU, and had no GPU at all. I needed something to play that would run on a veritable potato, and Angband was it.
    I have no idea if i already knew about it, i may have just googled it.
    I was always into D&D and RPGs so this would have been something i was looking for.

I think i played 3.0.6 or something like that.