X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sky
    Veteran
    • Oct 2016

what does starlight DO ?

i've been playing this game now for what, 2 years straight, and i still cannot tell you what Starlight does.

I used to think scrolls of Teleport Level and Deep Descent were cursed items and would squelch them right away, and yet i've come to know better - but still i cannot find a use for Starlight. I can make use of Trap Creation (trapdoors), Summon Monsters (easy exp), i've learned to appreciate the finer aspects of the game (of sorts) but .. WHAT DOES STARLIGHT DO.

Is it supposed to be a buffed staff of light? Because it's not, it doesn't light up rooms.
    Is it supposed to be a buffed WAND of light? I suppose it could be, but less charges and no real use for the additional beams. I'm thinking it's supposed to hurt light-sensitive monsters, but the awkward activation makes it marginally more useful than a simple DL1 wand of light, that weights more and has less charges.

Unless you have a whoooole bunch of orcs all surrounding you, in which case GG.
    "i can take this dracolich"
  • Goaticus
    Rookie
    • Apr 2019

I'm glad you asked! I don't know the answer but can't wait to see what others say. I've been playing the game (on and off) for ~25 years now and I have never found a use for them so don't feel bad. Or maybe I should feel bad, too...

Comment

• Estie
      Veteran
      • Apr 2008

It is more useful than the amulet of adornment, or is it ?

I think I used one once when I just happened to find it and didnt have a wand of light and wanted to light up a hallway. But yeah, squelched as found for me

Comment

• Derakon
        Prophet
        • Dec 2009

It's a shame they're not more useful, because the name is evocative and there's good support in the literature for light that holds back evil. Maybe they should be buffed somehow? Something like:

* Add a Light Room effect in addition to the rays