I thought I'd hate the changes in v4. I love them!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gglibertine
    Adept
    • Dec 2007

I thought I'd hate the changes in v4. I love them!

I don't post here very often (or play Angband very often these days, though I do go on week-long binges every few months), but I felt like I should pop my head in and thank everyone who helped make v4 so amazing.

When I read about some of the more dramatic changes, I was absolutely sure I was going to hate the new version. I was especially peeved by the removal of Detect Traps/Doors, which I've always relied on heavily to help me find my way around. (I found it easier to use that to give me a rough outline of the level than to use Mapping, which made it harder for me to tell where I'd already been.) I was also unhappy with the change to how Identify works.

Then I started playing, and... WOW. It's so much better! The changes that seemed so strange to me were really well thought out, and I'm now on board with nearly all of them.

I have only one complaint: removing the ability to search makes it *really* hard for less perspicacious characters in some cases. As someone noted in the bugs thread, spotting hidden doors being dependent on moving means that if you find yourself surrounded by hidden doors you can't see, there's no way to find them without Phase Door or TP -- you're just stuck. I've also had a couple of characters unable to find their way to a down staircase because they just couldn't locate the hidden door that would get them there. It's also frustrating finding myself confused every few turns because my dwarf priest is too oblivious to spot traps -- recovering from being confused *so* often eats up torches and food like crazy.

Does anyone else feel like this particular change skews the balance of the game a little too strongly in favor of e.g. hobbit rogues?