X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Bad Tempered Geezer
    Rookie
    • Aug 2009

Mage Books and Bows

Hi; I'm new to the forum, though I have some experience with Angband and variants already. Personally, I LOVE playing mages. The only characters I have played at any length have been mages and warriors, and I have a few of questions about playing with my High-Elf mage.

First of all, I am CLVL 25, and my max depth is 800'. Yes, not very far. I go between 750' and 800', recalling often and doing what I can to pits and uniques - though I've actually only encountered a single pit, and it was a small jelly pit. Ew. (I had to TO that dumb gelatinous cube any time I saw it) My progress is going pretty slowly in terms of items; notably, I have a Scimitar of Westernesse, but the only artifacts I have are the Phial and The Set of Gauntlets 'Paurnimmen'.

My questions are these:

Any advice on obtaining the additional spellbooks?
    I currently am capable of learning 9 new spells, but I am nearing the end of Sorcery and Evocations and want to find some new books. Do they appear more often at certain depths, or is there something I can do to find them easily? (I remember once I found Kelek's at DLVL 25-30 or so.. with a warrior. That was annoying, as I couldn't even read it)

What's the big deal with bows?
    When I browse through the forum and look at the mage advice threads, there's a whole lot of talk of longbows and crossbows. Personally, I never worried about missile launchers. For the whole game up to now - including very early game - I've been getting by just fine with magic missiles and melee (only when necessary). I have picked up a Long Bow of Accuracy (x3) (+14, +9) and keep some Arrows (1d4) (+6, +3), but I've never really used these. What is so important about having projectile weapons - especially early on? Rods, wands, artifacts, etc. seem to kind of fulfill that purpose anyway.