X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Malak Darkhunter
    Knight
    • May 2007

I'm a Linux noob, need help

Just downloaded ubuntu Linux for first time I like it, but don't understand what I need to do to compile angband, do I need a compilier program? And if so which is best for ubuntu Linux? Could somebody walk me through what I need to do and how to compile angband, don't understand how to open a command line either.
  • Mikko Lehtinen
    Veteran
    • Sep 2010

You don't necessarily need to compile Angband, it's available from the Ubuntu repositories. The package name is simply angband.

The easiest way to install is probably Ubuntu Software Center. I haven't used it, but I googled up this help page:
    The basic rundown of different ways to install software in Ubuntu

Comment

• Blougram
      Rookie
      • Jan 2012

The version available in the Software Center is rather old (don't remember the number). If you want 3.3.2 or later you will need to compile it. But don't worry, I'm a Linux-noob as well, and it's not difficult - at least if you're happy playing in ascii mode. I followed the instructions on:

1. Download and extract the source code.
      2. Open the terminal, move to the directory with the source and type:

Code:
      sudo apt-get install autoconf gcc libc6-dev libncurses5-dev
      ./configure --prefix=$HOME
      make
      make install
      At least I think that's what I did. Perhaps a more seasoned Linux/Unix person could correct me.

Comment

• Nick
        Vanilla maintainer
        • Apr 2007

Both answers so far are good; you may need some more info, though.

Which type of Linux is it? If it it Ubuntu (or Debian), then the apt-get instructions are right; if it's another one (Fedora or OpenSUSE, for example), you will need to use yum (so yum install gcc, etc).

If you want to use the SDL port (and I recommend it), you will need these packages (I think this is the full list):
        Code:
        SDL SDL_mixer SDL_ttf SDL_image