• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lurm
    Rookie
    • Feb 2010

Simple idea about monster memory

Hello players of Angband

I'm a long time player of OAngband and I have been reading oook.cz for a long time too. This is my first post though, so sorry if it's in wrong place.

Anyway, there was discussion about monster memory some time ago (didn't reread it, so it might be that this idea has been already suggested, if so i'm sorry to post it again.)

When I started playing Angband and O after it was released I used to check new monsters from spoilers, artifacts too andl it felt like cheating, but as the game is quite long I simply didn't want to die to some new monster breathing something that I had no resist for.

My idea is simply this: Stores in town could sell info about monsters. Maybe different stores about different set of monsters. Temple for example about undead and demons and such. (as they could have gathered info about these nasty things.)

The info could be separated in smaller pieces and info about deeper monsters would cost more. This would give the player a simple way of getting info on monster but buying it would be optional (if player prefers not to know anything about monsters she could simply ignore this buying of monster information. )
    (Maybe you would not be able to buy information about some very horrifying monster or uniques for example.)

Anyway, just an idea I had some time ago, what do you think?

lurm.
  • UglySquirrell
    Swordsman
    • Jul 2011

Hengband/Entroband had this. It was nice but that game had a huge amount of uniques. Best thing to do is get a rod of probing, easy to find usually. You'll fill out the list in no time.

Comment

• Timo Pietilä
      Prophet
      • Apr 2007

Originally posted by UglySquirrell
      Hengband/Entroband had this. It was nice but that game had a huge amount of uniques. Best thing to do is get a rod of probing, easy to find usually. You'll fill out the list in no time.