• Show
Clear All
  • ElectricPaladin
    Scout
    • Jan 2008

[Zangband] A Love Letter...

Dear Zangband,

Where have you been all my life?

I started playing roguelikes in elementry school with the Mines of Moria. It was something to burn time with, and to have in common with my father, who was an avid player (though I don't think he ever won). We switched over to Angband together, but when I went away to college, I ended up with a laptop, and without the eight-direction numeric keypad, my interest in Angband waned. During college, I briefly experimented with Nethack, but it wasn't able to really catch my attention.

After college, but still on a laptop, I began exploring the internet for Angband, and I found it again. It took a little patience, but I eventually learned how to play on a laptop keyboard using the function key... and it was just as fun as I remembered.

Then, abruptly, my Angband stopped working. So I fished around for more versions, reasoning that if Angband had stopped working for some reason, maybe something else would, and discovered... Zangband.

I eventually got Zangband working on a different computer... and wow. It's wht I've been waiting for. I'm playing as different a character as I can imagine - a Beastman Chaos Warrior - and I never know what to expect next: mutations, visits from a demon patron, levels that are huge open underground lakes, rather than the same old same old of rooms linked by tunnels. An outside! Trees! Oddly shaped rooms, just for fun!

So, I'm sold. I still want to beat Angband one of these days, but I think I'm a Zangband player from here on out.

ElectricPaladin

PS: Incidentally, I encountered a creature called the Greater Hellbeast at 150' that scared the pants off me... and discovered that, while I couldn't hit it and it ignored my spells, it's gazes and crushes didn't do any harm to me, either. It bothered me for a while, then ran off. What's up with that?
    A/Z/Steamband W H- D c-- f PV+ s- TT? d P++ M+