X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jude
    Adept
    • Nov 2007

Odd question about corpses

OK so I just started playing Zangband. I have a human death paladin, doing pretty well. Anyway, I noticed that unlike in Vanilla, monsters leave corpses behind when I kill them. I noticed that ghouls can apparently eat these for food, but I was wondering if there is any other use for them?

I was recently playing Diablo 2 where the Necromancer can reanimate corpses, and, in what's probably the coolest spell idea in any game I've ever seen, explode them for a lot of damage to other nearby monsters. Since I have a character using death magic, I was wondering if any high level spells are going to show up that will let me do stuff with corpses or if they're just there for atmosphere and ghoul food.

And are there any other variants that do make use of this idea?
  • andrewdoull
    Unangband maintainer
    • Apr 2007

Originally posted by Jude
    OK so I just started playing Zangband. I have a human death paladin, doing pretty well. Anyway, I noticed that unlike in Vanilla, monsters leave corpses behind when I kill them. I noticed that ghouls can apparently eat these for food, but I was wondering if there is any other use for them?

I was recently playing Diablo 2 where the Necromancer can reanimate corpses, and, in what's probably the coolest spell idea in any game I've ever seen, explode them for a lot of damage to other nearby monsters. Since I have a character using death magic, I was wondering if any high level spells are going to show up that will let me do stuff with corpses or if they're just there for atmosphere and ghoul food.

And are there any other variants that do make use of this idea?
    Entroband definitely has the 'explode pets' idea, as discussed elsewhere in these forums.

Unangband will let you animate various corpses you find, with the right mage spell (from the Master school).

Other than that, I'm not sure...