Z+Angband and ASCII. Something massive in my head changed and I love it!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Svladd Cjelik
    Scout
    • Mar 2008

Z+Angband and ASCII. Something massive in my head changed and I love it!

Hi again all,

Long time lurker, but infrequent poster here.

I just dropped by to chat about tilesets and graphics for Angband and the many variants. I have been a long time Zangband player and have always used the been a fan of the old tiles and Adam Bolts tiles.

I simply could not get into the game using ASCII ...until now.

I don't know what it is, but for the first time ever (and I have been playing Zangband for 13 years my my count) I am using ASCII and loving it!

All of a sudden I turned the graphics off and from now on, that's the way they'll stay. I'm somehow more absorbed without them ...Wormtongue agent of Saruman took on a whole new form -I could see the poison dripping from his slimy lips as he spoke. ...the same for Freesia and more!

Like I said, I don't know what, but something changed and I love it!

Do you use tiles or ASCII?
    DIRK GENTLY'S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY

We solve the whole crime. We find the whole person.
  • will_asher
    DaJAngband Maintainer
    • Apr 2007

Originally posted by Svladd Cjelik
    ...Wormtongue agent of Saruman took on a whole new form -I could see the poison dripping from his slimy lips as he spoke. ...the same for Freesia and more!
    Now I wonder what kind of fancy ASCII they have in Zangband

It's the same reason the book is always better than the movie -the imagination is allowed to do its work.

That said, I've been enjoying playing with tiles for the first time in awhile. I always played with ASCII on my old computer because the tiles looked horrible on the low-quality monitor. Now, I have a new computer where the tiles look how they're supposed to.