X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sabreman
    Rookie
    • Jul 2007

Variant with persistent dungeons?

I know this is goes against one of the main features of Angband and its variants, but I was wondering if there is, out there among the many variants, one that maintains the dungeon layout from floor to floor?

I started playing Roguelikes about a year ago, and I've tried many from Vanilla Angband to Dungeon Crawl to Nethack and many variants inbetween. I don't get on with Nethack much because I don't particularly like the interface and it seems overly complex. Dungeon Crawl is superb but I always feel like I want something more from it. Angband gives me the extras I want from DC (quests, shops, etc.) but I really don't enjoy the randomizing floors - it disconnects me from the world of the game.

So obviously my perfect Roguelike would be a combination of the persistence of Dungeon Crawl and the feature set and interface of Angband. One that generates a random dungeon floor the first time to visit it, but from then on maintains it for the duration of that game.

Sooo... I don't suppose there's such a game nestled amid the variants?
  • Djabanete
    Knight
    • Apr 2007

I've often wanted the same thing. I don't think such a variant exists. Entroband (and I assume Hengband also) has "semi-persistent" dungeon levels; dungeon levels are remembered until you return to town, then the whole memory is erased again.

I keep wanting to give NetHack a legitimate attempt, but every time I try, I remember how annoying it is to relearn a whole set of commands...

Comment

• Sabreman
      Rookie
      • Jul 2007

Thanks for the suggestion - I've just had a brief go on Hengband and it's very close to what I'm looking for

Comment

• Frumple
        Rookie
        • May 2007