X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Skebet
    Rookie
    • Jan 2015

New player. Am I doing it right?

Hi all. I hope this is an appropriate thread for this forum. So I'm playing my first game of Angband. I have a lot of experience with unforgiving games but never played roguelikes before. This site has been an awesome source of information, but as I begin to actually start feeling invested in my character I think I could use some advice. So here's where I'm at (clvl 28, dlvl 34) EDIT: now clvl 35, dlvl 45

I think I got lucky getting a weapon with telepathy pretty early, so I swap between that most of the time and Sting for actual fighting. Also holding onto Firestar for the fire immunity - which I imagine will come in handy (swap in for fire monsters I guess).

As a new player I have been methodically clearing every dungeon level, but I see a lot here about "diving." Is that the way to go? And of course the follow-up question is how far should one go? Any other important advice? What holes should I worry about with my character?

Thank you all for any guidance.
    S

EDIT: update posted below.
    EDIT: Ringil dropped on dlvl 45. Didn't even know was something to look forward to. And I thought I was happy with Anduril!
    Last edited by Skebet; January 20, 2015, 07:21.
  • Bogatyr
    Knight
    • Feb 2014

Originally posted by Skebet
    Hi all. I hope this is an appropriate thread for this forum. So I'm playing my first game of Angband. I have a lot of experience with unforgiving games but never played roguelikes before. This site has been an awesome source of information, but as I begin to actually start feeling invested in my character I think I could use some advice. So here's where I'm at (clvl 28, dlvl 34)