X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Issunrai
    Rookie
    • Jun 2012

Acid

Hey there. I'm new to Angband. After like 3 fail runs where I had no idea what I was doing, I made my way to CL25 as a Half-Troll Warrior. He was doing really well up until now except for when I was grinding around DL20 and I encountered water hounds, which then proceeded to drop my AC from 93 to 79. I was wondering if there was some way to restore equipment that was damaged by acid? And also, I was wearing an amulet of resist acid, so why didn't that protect me? Or does "resist" only partially resist damage...
  • d_m
    Angband Devteam member
    • Aug 2008

Yes, resist helps but doesn't totally prevent the damage.

In general equipment that is damaged can't be repaired. There are enchantment scrolls that can boost the magical bonuses, but they are rare and it's usually not worth the trouble.

Better equipment becomes immune to damage from acid, so your best bet is to power through and find better stuff!
    linux->xterm->screen->pmacs

Comment

• debo
      Veteran
      • Oct 2011

It also might be useful to know that AC doesn't do a heck of a lot in Angband... it's certainly better to have more of it than not, but -15AC at that stage of the game isn't a dealbreaker. As d_m said, it's easy enough just to power through it and find better stuff.

There are a few pieces of equipment that give immunity to acid, which AFAIK also makes you immune to equipment damage from acid. Although, by the time you get one of those, AC reduction is probably the least of your worries

tl;dr It does suck when gear with good side-benefits (resistances or buffs) gets chewed up, but it's probably the gentlest of the other "penalizing" effects (e.g. disenchantment, stat-drain, life drain, off the top of my head.)
      Glaurung, Father of the Dragons says, 'You cannot avoid the ballyhack.'

Comment

• Derakon
        Prophet
        • Dec 2009