What Melee weapon do you recommend for a mage?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • xuroy
    Rookie
    • May 2024

What Melee weapon do you recommend for a mage?

I'm relatively new to Angband. I was wondering if I could get some advice on what Melee weapon a mage should use. I know it depends on the race, probably; I'm a Gnome Mage. Daggers are light, but deal little damage. I know mages aren't meant for melee combat, but (at least at lower levels), SP is scarce, and I'm not sure if 1d4 will be sufficient when I'm out of SP and arrows. I've been using a Main Gauche, which only weighs 3lb and deals 1d5, but is a cutlass maybe a better option?
    IDK. Maybe mages are only meant for daggers. Any advice?
  • wobbly
    Prophet
    • May 2012

Press e, 'e'xamine, the weapon. It'll tell you damage per a round. Early game a mage will only get 1 blow, no matter the weapon weight, bigger and heavier is better. Its counter intuitive, warriors in the early game want what ever is lightest and gives the most blows, mages want what ever is heaviest and gives the most damage per a blow.

Comment

• Sky
      Veteran
      • Oct 2016

a Mage should use a melee weapon that
      1. is light, and/or
      2. gives +2 INT (*slay* animals or demons) and/or
      3. has ESP

if you are looking to deal damage in a way that isn't spells, at most look for a sling of power, but really, you shouldn't. If you want to melee monsters, play a Blackguard.
      "i can take this dracolich"

Comment

• xuroy
        Rookie
        • May 2024

Originally posted by Sky
        a Mage should use a melee weapon that
        1. is light, and/or
        2. gives +2 INT (*slay* animals or demons) and/or
        3. has ESP

if you are looking to deal damage in a way that isn't spells, at most look for a sling of power, but really, you shouldn't. If you want to melee monsters, play a Blackguard.